General Terms and Conditions

Cazimir makes every effort to provide an optimal service to its clients. Smooth interaction and cooperation between lawyer and client is very important, as the lawyer’s services are adapted to the needs of the client on the basis of the actual situation.

1. General information

Cazimir is a cooperative limited liability company with its registered office at 1831 Diegem, Berkenlaan 8A bus 4; it is registered with the Crossroads Bank for Enterprises (CBE) in Brussels under number 0819.828.459. Cazimir has four business units, in Diegem (CBE 2.182.601.948), Kortrijk (CBE 2.182.602.443), Ghent (CBE 2.299.306.806) and Antwerp (CBE 2.215.915.015).

2. Applicability

These general terms and conditions apply to all services provided by the lawyers working at Cazimir to its clients. The contractual relationship exists between the client and Cazimir, even if the client only has contact with one or more specific lawyers working at Cazimir.

In the event of a conflict, these general terms and conditions will prevail over terms and conditions of the client, unless otherwise agreed in writing by one of the directors of Cazimir. Any agreement that deviates from one or more clauses of these general terms and conditions will only replace the clause or clauses from which it deviates. Other clauses shall remain fully in force and applicable.

3. Agreement

The lawyers working for Cazimir provide their services in the name and on behalf of Cazimir, unless they have explicitly indicated that they are handling a particular case on a private basis.

Cazimir is the client’s sole contractual counterparty for any services provided by its partners, lawyers, interns and appointees. However, if a lawyer attached to Cazimir handles a case on a private basis, the lawyer concerned is the client’s sole contractual counterparty.

The agreement between Cazimir and the client takes effect when Cazimir commences its services.

4. Object of service provision

The services provided by Cazimir may include legal advice, assistance with mediation, assistance with negotiations, representation in proceedings, assistance with expert investigations and acting as an agent.

The parties will clearly communicate the scope of Cazimir’s services at the commencement of activities and, if necessary, during their ongoing implementation.

The undertaking given by Cazimir is an undertaking to exercise due care, skill and diligence, not an undertaking as to the results to be achieved.

5. Internal task allocation

Unless the client expressly objects, Cazimir is at liberty to its internal allocation of cases or particular aspects thereof among its lawyers. To the maximum extent possible, this internal allocation will take place in accordance with the lawyer’s expertise, preferred working areas and/or the client’s wishes. Where necessary, work will be done on a team basis. The dominus litis will retain oversight of the case at all times.

6. Information

The client will promptly provide Cazimir, both at the start of the engagement and during its term, and where applicable at Cazimir’s request, with all information required for the optimal performance of its services. Cazimir will not be liable for any damage resulting from the provision by the client of incorrect or incomplete information.

In the event that the client, after being requested to do so by Cazimir, fails to provide information or to fulfil certain formalities within the specified time period, Cazimir reserves the right to suspend its work on the case and to invoice the client for services already provided.

Conducting legal proceedings entails certain costs, including legal costs as well as the lawyer’s fees. In principle, (in civil cases) the unsuccessful party must pay legal and other costs.

These costs usually include the summons costs and a procedural cost indemnity, i.e. a fixed contribution towards the costs and fees of the unsuccessful party’s lawyer. The amount of this procedural cost indemnity is determined according to certain rules and (periodically index-adjusted) charge scales. For other proceedings such as criminal or administrative proceedings, specific rules apply which may effect the final costs.

7. Use of third parties’ services

If the provision of the services necessitates the use of a judicial officer or a translator, the client will leave the choice thereof to Cazimir. The same applies to the performance of simple tasks by a local lawyer such as submitting a procedural document or appearing at an introductory or other hearing.

If the provision of the services necessitates the use of other third parties such as lawyers (including foreign lawyers), notaries, accountants, auditors or experts, these will be chosen in consultation with the client. Notwithstanding such consultation, Cazimir is in the performance of its assignment always mandated by the client as an agent to instruct such service providers in the name and on behalf of the client; in such circumstances the service provider’s invoice will be issued in the client’s name and must be paid by the client directly to the service provider concerned.

8. Remuneration

§1. Cazimir will periodically charge the client for its activities, administration costs and advance costs by means of a statement of fees and costs. Details of the work done and the costs will be sent to the client on request.

§2. Unless otherwise agreed, work done under the heading ‘fees’ will be charged on the basis of a fixed amount determined by Cazimir, the calculation of which will above all take account of, in addition to the nature, complexity, demands and urgency of the case, the time spent and the basic hourly rate of the lawyers who perform the work concerned.

Cazimir will likewise determine the basic hourly rate according to the nature, demands and degree of difficulty of the case, the lawyer’s experience in the relevant legal area and the urgency of the assignment.

The basic hourly rates will be index-adjusted annually and may also be modified at any time, on an individual basis per lawyer. The client may request the latest basic hourly rates from Cazimir at any time.

Notwithstanding the charging of fees, administration and office costs, including costs for opening a case or subsidiary file in a case, typing costs, printing and photocopying costs, postage costs, telephone costs, etc. will be charged under the heading ‘administration costs’ as a fixed 8% of the fees charged.

Cazimir and the client may agree – for instance in respect of uncontested or simpler cases – on other formulas for calculating fees and administration costs. Such formulas may include:

    • o charging a fixed sum per case or per case per instance;
    • o the charging of interest, compensation and/or the procedural cost indemnity only per case (regardless of whether these amounts can actually be recovered by the client)..

The costs that Cazimir has advanced to third parties, such as court registries, mortgage offices, registration offices, official or unofficial databases, third-party lawyers, judicial officers, notaries, translators, accountants, auditors, experts and government bodies in Belgium or abroad, will be charged separately under costs on the basis of the actual costs incurred (plus VAT if applicable).

§3. The costs that Cazimir has advanced to third parties, such as court registries, mortgage offices, registration offices, official or unofficial databases, third-party lawyers, judicial officers, notaries, translators, accountants, auditors, experts and government bodies in Belgium or abroad, will be charged separately under costs on the basis of the actual costs incurred (plus VAT if applicable).

EA provision is a fixed amount that the client pays to Cazimir prior to an interim or final statement. This provision may relate to services already delivered or costs advanced, or may be an advance on services to be delivered or costs to be incurred, or a combination of the two. In the interim or final statement, the provisions will be deducted from the total.

§4. The entry of a statement of fees and costs in Cazimir’s accounts serves as proof of sending and receipt by the addressee.

§5. If the client does not agree with a statement of fees and costs, it must state its objections in writing within fourteen (14) days after the date of the statement; should it fail to do so its objections will be inadmissible.

§6. Unless otherwise agreed, all fee statements are payable to Cazimir’s registered office, without discount, within fifteen (15) days of the invoice date.

If a statement of fees and costs is not paid by the due date indicated thereon, Cazimir has the right to charge the client, without prior notice of default, (a) late-payment interest at a rate of 10% per annum from the statement date until the date of full payment, and (b)fixed compensation of 10% of the outstanding amount, without prejudice to the right to legal costs (including the applicable procedural cost indemnity), if judicial recovery is necessary.

In these circumstances, Cazimir also has the right either to suspend the performance of its activities in all cases on which it is working for the client concerned until all outstanding invoices have been paid in full, or to terminate all work with the client with immediate effect.

Cazimir is not liable for any damage resulting from the suspension of its activities or the termination of its agreement with the client.

§7. If Cazimir represents the interests of multiple clients in a case, all these clients are jointly and severally obliged to pay the statements of fees and costs relating to the case (plus the additional items mentioned in §6 and all recovery costs, where applicable), regardless of the client in whose name Cazimir has drawn up its statements of fees and costs.

9. Third-party funds

§1. Cazimir will transfer to the client as soon as possible all amounts it receives on behalf of its client. If Cazimir is unable to transfer an amount immediately, it will notify the client that it has received the amount and state the reason why the money has not been transferred.

§2. Cazimir may withhold and/or set off any sums that the client owes to Cazimir from the amounts Cazimir received on behalf of the client. It will inform the client of this.

§3. Cazimir will immediately transfer all amounts it received from the client for third parties to these third parties.

10. Complaints

If a client has a complaint about our firm or is dissatisfied with the handling of its case, it should preferably first discuss this with the lawyer in charge of the case.

If this consultation does not lead to a satisfactory solution for the client, the client may contact Wim Vermeulen (wim.vermeulen@cazimir.be), Nathalie Labeeuw (nathalie.labeeuw@cazimir.be), Olivier De Keukelaere (olivier.dekeukelaere@cazimir.be) or Tim Melis (tim.melis@cazimir.be), who will investigate the complaint and, where possible, mediate to find a solution.

11. Aansprakelijkheid

§1. All Cazimir’s lawyers and Cazimir itself are registered with the Dutch-Language Section of the Brussels Bar, the Bar Association at the Kortrijk Bar, the Bar Association at the Ghent Bar, or the Bar Association at the Antwerp Bar, and are insured for professional liability with Amlin Europe nv. The professional liability of Cazimir and of the lawyers employed by Cazimir is limited under this policy to €1,250,000.00 per claim.

§2. The client acknowledges and agrees that the aforementioned insurance held by Cazimir and its lawyers to be sufficient and accepts that compensation for any damage suffered as a result of a professional misconduct (including serious misconduct and gross negligence) on the part of Cazimir and/or its lawyers and/or appointee shall be limited to the amount for which Cazimir and its lawyers are covered and insured under the aforementioned policy.

§3.If the professional liability insurer does not cover the damage or loss suffered by the client, the total contractual and extra-contractual liability of Cazimir, its lawyers and appointees (principal, costs and interest) shall be limited to the amount excluding VAT that was charged in the case in which the liability claim is upheld, and in the absence of such a case to a maximum of €7,500 per claim. However, if the lack of cover is the result of an error on the part of Cazimir or its lawyers or appointees, total liability is limited to four (4) times the aforementioned amounts.

§4. Cazimir and its lawyers may not under any circumstances be held liable for indirect damage, consequential damage, loss of use or loss of profit suffered by the client or any third parties.

§5. Notwithstanding the foregoing, Cazimir and its lawyers shall not be liable for any acts or omissions of third parties involved in the performance of their services, if they were engaged in the name and on behalf of the client.

In such circumstances, Cazimir therefore may not be held jointly or severally liable with such a third party to pay any compensation to the client.

§6. Although Cazimir makes reasonable efforts to keep its emails and attachments free from viruses or other defects that can affect computers or an IT system, it remains the responsibility of the client to ensure that appropriate measures are in place to protect its own computers and IT system against such viruses or defects. Cazimir accepts no liability for any loss or damage resulting from the receipt or use of electronic communication originating from Cazimir.

12. Intellectual property rights

The client is not permitted to reproduce, disclose, publish or use, whether by itself or with the assistance of any third parties, the advice, memorandums, contracts, presentations or other documents or any other intellectual output produced by Cazimir in any form, without Cazimir’s prior written consent, other than in the context of the assignment for which it has instructed Cazimir.

13. Termination

§1. Both the client and Cazimir have the right to terminate the engagement at any time with immediate effect and without cause.

In the event of such termination, the client is obliged to pay all fees and costs up to the date of termination of the agreement. Cazimir will draw up a final statement of fees and costs and send it to the client.

As far as is legally and ethically permitted, Cazimir may exercise its right of retention before transferring its case file to the client.

§2. Cazimir is not liable for any damage or loss resulting from the termination of its agreement with the client.

14. Archiving

Cazimir archives the case file after the end of each assignment and keeps it for a period of five (5) years. Original documents can be returned to the client and should where applicable be archived by the client. After the aforementioned period of five years, Cazimir has the right to destroy the case file.

15. Modification

Cazimir reserves the right to modify these general terms and conditions at any time with or without notice to the client.

16. Applicable law and competent court

§1. All agreements between Cazimir and the client shall be governed by the Belgian law.

All lawyers at Cazimir are subject to (a) the regulations of the Flemish Bar Association and the (not yet repealed) regulations of the former National Bar Association, which can be consulted at www.advocaat.be and (b) the regulations of the Dutch-Language Section of the Brussels Bar, which can be consulted at www.baliebrussel.be, or the regulations of the Kortrijk Bar Association, which can be consulted at www.baliekortrijk.be, or the regulations of the Ghent Bar Association, which can be consulted at www.balie-gent.be, or the regulations of the Antwerp Bar Association, which can be consulted at www.balieantwerpen.be, depending on the bar at which the lawyer concerned is registered (supra, Article 1)

§2. The parties will preferably settle their disputes amicably.

§3. For fee disputes, depending on which Cazimir business unit is concerned (Brussels, Antwerp, Ghent or Kortrijk), an extrajudicial dispute settlement scheme exists through:

    • the Dutch-Language Section of the Brussels Bar: the website www.baliebrussel.be > what can a lawyer do for you? > what if I disagree with my lawyer?

The following bar council president is competent in disciplinary matters, depending on the bar at which the lawyer concerned is registered:

    • the Dutch-Language Section of the Brussels Bar: President of the Brussels Bar, Gerechtsgebouw, Poelaertplein, 1000 Brussels
    • the Antwerp Bar Association: President of the Antwerp Bar, Gerechtsgebouw, Bolivarplaats 20/15, 2000 Antwerp.
    • the Kortrijk Bar: President of the Kortrijk Bar, Gerechtsgebouw, Burgemeester Nolfstraat 10A, 8500 Kortrijk.
    • the Ghent Bar: President of the Ghent Bar, Gerechtsgebouw, Opgeëistenlaan 401/P - 9000 Ghent

§4. The courts of Brussels shall have exclusive jurisdiction in respect of any dispute between Cazimir and the client.

Deze website maakt gebruik van cookies om uw gebruikservaring te verbeteren. Door verder te surfen, stemt u in met ons cookie-beleid. Meer info

Conditions générales

Cazimir met tout en œuvre pour offrir à ses clients des prestations de services optimales. Une bonne interaction et une bonne collaboration entre l’avocat et le client sont à cet égard très importantes. La prestation de services d’un avocat est en effet une prestation sur mesure, basée sur des faits concrets.

1. Informations générales

Cazimir est une société coopérative à responsabilité limitée, dont le siège est situé à 1831 Diegem, Berkenlaan 8A boîte 4, et est inscrite à Bruxelles auprès de la Banque-Carrefour des Entreprises sous le numéro 0819.828.459. Cazimir dispose de quatre unités d’établissement, à savoir à Diegem (BCE 2.182.601.948), à Courtrai (BCE 2.182.602.443), à Gand (BCE 2.299.306.806) et à Anvers (BCE 2.215.915.015).

2. Applicabilité

Les présentes conditions générales s’appliquent à tous les services fournis par les avocats employés par Cazimir à l’égard de ses clients. La relation contractuelle existe entre le client et Cazimir, même si le client n’est en contact qu’avec un ou plusieurs avocats déterminés travaillant chez Cazimir.

En cas de contradiction, les présentes conditions générales primeront toutes autres conditions générales du client, sauf s’il en a été convenu autrement par écrit par un des administrateurs de Cazimir. Les accords qui dérogeraient à une ou plusieurs clauses des présentes conditions générales remplaceront uniquement la ou les clauses auxquelles ils dérogent. Les autres clauses restent intégralement applicables.

3. Contrat

Les avocats qui travaillent chez Cazimir fournissent leurs services au nom et pour le compte de Cazimir, sauf si pour un dossier déterminé, ils ont expressément indiqué qu’ils le traitaient pour leur compte propre.

Cazimir est l’unique partie contractante du client pour toute prestation de services réalisée par ses avocats-associés, avocats-collaborateurs, avocats-stagiaires et préposés. Toutefois, lorsqu’un avocat lié à Cazimir traite un dossier en son nom propre, seul l’avocat concerné sera partie contractante de son client.

Le contrat entre Cazimir et le client prend effet au moment où Cazimir débute sa prestation de services.

4. Objet de la prestation de services

La prestation de services de Cazimir peut entre autres porter sur la fourniture de conseils, l’assistance à la médiation, l’assistance à des négociations, l’assistance à des procès, l’assistance lors d’expertises, l’intervention en tant que fondé de pouvoir.

Les parties définiront clairement l’objet précis de la prestation de services de Cazimir au début des travaux et, si nécessaire, en cours d’exécution.

Les engagements de Cazimir ne constituent pas des obligations de résultat, mais des obligations de moyens.

5. Répartition interne des tâches

Sauf si le client s’y oppose expressément, Cazimir est libre de répartir des dossiers ou certains aspects de ceux-ci en interne entre ses collaborateurs­-avocats. Cette répartition interne se fera autant que possible en fonction des matières de prédilection des avocats et/ou des souhaits du client. Lorsque cela s’avère nécessaire, un travail en équipe sera mis en place. Le dominus litis assure toujours la supervision du dossier.

6. Informations

Le client fournira toujours ponctuellement à Cazimir, tant au début du contrat que pendant la durée de celui-ci, le cas échéant à la demande de Cazimir, toutes les informations requises pour permettre l’exécution optimale de sa prestation de services. Cazimir décline toute responsabilité en cas de préjudice qui découlerait d’une fourniture d’informations inexactes ou incomplètes par le client.

Si, après en avoir été prié par Cazimir, le client omet de fournir les informations demandées ou de remplir certaines formalités dans le délai déterminé, Cazimir se réserve le droit de suspendre ses prestations et de facturer les services déjà fournis.

L’introduction de procédures juridiques entraîne certains frais, notamment, outre les propres frais d’avocat, les frais de justice. En principe (dans les affaires civiles), les frais (de justice) sont à charge de la partie qui succombe.

Ces frais comprennent généralement les frais de citation et l’indemnité de procédure, c’est-à-dire une intervention forfaitaire dans les frais et honoraires de l’avocat de la partie qui succombe. Le montant de cette indemnité de procédure est fixé conformément à certaines règles et échelles de tarifs (périodiquement indexées). Pour d’autres procédures ­ procédures pénales, procédures administratives... ­ des règles spécifiques, similaires ou non, s’appliquent.

7. Appel à des tiers

Lorsque pour l’exécution de la prestation de services, il est nécessaire de faire appel à un huissier de justice ou à un traducteur, le client en laisse le libre choix à Cazimir. Il en va de même pour l’exécution de tâches simples (dépôts de pièces de procédure, comparution à une audience [introductive]...) par un avocat local.

Lorsque, pour l’exécution de la prestation de services, il est nécessaire de faire appel à d’autres tiers, comme des avocats (étrangers), notaires, experts-comptables, réviseurs ou experts, ceux-ci sont choisis en concertation avec le client. Sans préjudice de cette concertation et dans le cadre de l’exécution de sa mission, Cazimir est toujours mandaté par le client, en qualité de fondé de pouvoir, pour confier des missions à de tels prestataires de services au nom et pour le compte du client, auquel cas la facture du prestataire de services auquel il est fait appel sera délivrée au nom du client qui devra la régler directement au prestataire de services concerné.

8. Rétribution

§1er. Cazimir facturera régulièrement ses prestations, frais administratifs et provisions au client au moyen d’un relevé d’honoraires et de frais. Le détail des services prestés ainsi que des frais sera envoyé au client à sa première demande.

§2. Sauf s’il en a été convenu autrement, les prestations seront facturés sous le poste honoraires sur la base d’un montant fixe calculé par Cazimir qui, outre la nature, la complexité, l’implication et le caractère d’urgence de l’affaire, tient principalement compte du temps qui est consacré à un dossier déterminé et du tarif horaire de base des avocats qui ont réalisé les prestations concernées.

Cazimir fixe également le tarif horaire de base en fonction de la nature, de l’implication et du niveau de difficulté de l’affaire, de l’expérience de l’avocat qui traite le dossier dans la matière juridique concernée ainsi que du caractère urgent de la mission.

Les tarifs horaires de base sont indexés chaque année et peuvent en outre être adaptés à tout moment par l’avocat sur une base individuelle. Le client peut à tout moment demander les tarifs horaires de base actualisés auprès de Cazimir.

En plus de la facturation des honoraires, les frais d’administration et de bureau, dont les frais d’ouverture du dossier ou des sous-dossiers, les frais de dactylographie, d’impression ou de photocopies, les frais d’expédition, de téléphone... sont facturés sous le poste des frais administratifs, sous la forme d’un pourcentage de frais correspondant à 8 % des honoraires facturés.

Cazimir et le client peuvent convenir entre eux ­ par exemple pour des affaires non contestées ou des affaires plus simples ­ d’appliquer d’autres formules pour le calcul des honoraires et des frais administratifs. De telles formules peuvent entre autres comprendre :

    • o la facturation d’un montant forfaitaire par affaire ou par affaire et par instance ;
    • o uniquement la facturation des intérêts, de la clause pénale et/ou de l’indemnité de procédure par affaire (indépendamment du fait que ces montants puissent effectivement être récupérés par le client).

Les frais que Cazimir a avancés à des tiers, comme les greffes, bureaux d’hypothèques, bureaux d’enregistrement, banques de données officielles ou officieuses, avocats-tiers, huissiers de justice, notaires, traducteurs, experts-comptables, réviseurs, experts et instances (nationales et étrangères), sont facturés séparément sous le poste Frais sur la base des frais réellement payés (augmentés de la TVA si d’application).

§3. Cazimir se réserve le droit de demander au client, avant le début de ses travaux ou pendant ceux-ci, une provision au moyen d’un relevé de provision et de n’entamer ou respectivement de ne poursuivre ses travaux ou de n’avancer des frais qu’après le paiement de cette provision. Par relevé de frais et d’honoraires, on entend également, dans les présentes conditions, le relevé de provision.

Une provision est un montant forfaitaire que le client paie à Cazimir préalablement à l’envoi d’un relevé intermédiaire ou final. Cette provision peut porter sur des prestations déjà fournies ou des frais déjà avancés, ou peut être une avance sur des prestations encore à fournir ou des frais encore à payer, ou une combinaison des deux. Les provisions sont ensuite déduites du montant total des relevés intermédiaires ou du relevé final.

§4. La mention d’un relevé d’honoraires et de frais dans la comptabilité de Cazimir vaut comme preuve de son envoi et de sa réception par le destinataire.

§5. Si le client n’est pas d’accord avec un relevé d’honoraires et de frais, il devra, sous peine de forclusion, le contester dans les quatorze jours suivant la date du relevé, par écrit et en motivant son désaccord.

§6. Sauf s’il en a été convenu autrement, tous les relevés d’honoraires sont payables au siège de Cazimir, sans escompte, dans les 15 jours suivant la date de facture.

Lorsqu’un relevé d’honoraires et de frais n’est pas payé à son échéance, Cazimir a le droit, sans être tenu de mettre préalablement le client en demeure par lettre recommandée, (a) de facturer des intérêts moratoires au taux de 10 % à partir de la date du relevé jusqu’à la date du paiement intégral, et (b) de facturer une indemnité forfaitaire de 10 % du montant dû, sans préjudice de son droit à des frais de justice (y compris l’indemnité de procédure applicable) en cas de recouvrement judiciaire.

Cazimir a dans ce cas également le droit, soit de suspendre l’exécution de ses travaux pour tous les dossiers du client concerné jusqu’au moment du paiement intégral de tous les relevés, soit de mettre fin à la collaboration globale avec le client, avec prise d’effet immédiate.

Cazimir décline toute responsabilité en cas de préjudice qui découlerait de la suspension de ses travaux ou de la cessation de son contrat avec le client.

§7. Lorsque dans une affaire, Cazimir défend les intérêts de plusieurs clients, tous ces clients sont solidairement et indivisiblement tenus de payer les relevés d’honoraires et de frais qui concernent cette affaire (le cas échéant augmentés des accessoires mentionnés au §5 ainsi que tous les frais de recouvrement), et ce quel que soit le client au nom duquel Cazimir a établi ses relevés d’honoraires et de frais.

9. Fonds de tiers

1er. Cazimir reverse le plus rapidement possible au client tous les montants qu’il perçoit pour ce dernier. Lorsque Cazimir ne peut pas reverser immédiatement un montant au client, il avertit son client de la réception du montant et l’informe de la raison pour laquelle le montant n’est pas reversé.

§2. Cazimir peut retenir sur les montants qu’il reçoit pour le compte du client les sommes servant à couvrir les montants que son client lui doit. Il en informe le client.

§3. Cazimir reverse immédiatement tous les montants qu’il reçoit du client pour le compte de tiers à ces tiers.

10. Réclamations

Si le client a une réclamation concernant le cabinet Cazimir ou s’il n’est pas satisfait de la manière dont son dossier est traité, il est souhaitable qu’il en parle d’abord avec l’avocat qui traite son dossier.

Si cette concertation n’aboutit pas à une solution satisfaisante pour le client, celui-ci peut s’adresser à Wim Vermeulen (wim.vermeulen@cazimir.be), Nathalie Labeeuw (nathalie.labeeuw@cazimir.be), Olivier De Keukelaere (olivier.dekeukelaere@cazimir.be) ou Tim Melis (tim.melis@cazimir.be), qui étudiera la réclamation et tentera une conciliation pour parvenir à une solution.

11. Responsabilité

§1er. Tous les avocats de Cazimir ainsi que Cazimir sont assurés au titre de la responsabilité professionnelle auprès de la SA Amlin Europe par le biais de l’Ordre néerlandophone des Avocats du Barreau de Bruxelles, par le biais de l’Ordre des Avocats du Barreau de Courtrai, par le biais de l’Ordre des Avocats du Barreau de Gand ou par le biais de l’Ordre des Avocats du Barreau d’Anvers. La responsabilité professionnelle de Cazimir et des avocats employés par Cazimir est limitée, dans le cadre de cette police, au montant assuré de 1 250 000,00 euros par sinistre.

§2. Le client estime que l’assurance susmentionnée de Cazimir et de ses avocats est suffisante et accepte que l’indemnisation en cas de préjudice subi suite à une faute professionnelle (même grave) de Cazimir et/ou de ses avocats et/ou de ses préposés soit limitée au montant pour lequel Cazimir et ses avocats sont effectivement couverts et assurés dans le cadre de la police susmentionnée.

§3. Si l’assureur couvrant la responsabilité professionnelle ne couvre pas le préjudice, la responsabilité globale de Cazimir, de ses avocats et de ses préposés est limitée, tant contractuellement qu’extracontractuellement, en principal, intérêts et frais, au montant hors TVA facturé dans le dossier où la responsabilité est retenue, et à défaut d’un tel dossier, à maximum 7 500 euros par sinistre. Si toutefois l’absence de couverture résulte d’une faute de Cazimir ou de ses avocats ou préposés, leur responsabilité globale est limitée à quatre fois les montants précités.

§4. Cazimir et ses avocats ne peuvent sous aucun prétexte être tenus responsables de dommages indirects, de dommages consécutifs, d’une perte de jouissance ou d’un manque à gagner subis par le client ou par des tiers.

§5. Sans préjudice de ce qui précède, Cazimir et ses avocats ne sont pas responsables d’éventuels manquements de tiers auxquels il est fait appel pour l’exécution de leur prestation de services, lorsque la mission leur a été confiée au nom et pour le compte du client.

Dans un tel cas, Cazimir ne peut par conséquent pas non plus être solidairement ou indivisiblement tenu avec le tiers en question au paiement d’une quelconque indemnité au client.

§6. Bien que Cazimir fournisse des efforts raisonnables pour protéger ses e-mails et annexes contre les virus ou autres pannes pouvant affecter les ordinateurs ou un système informatique, il demeure de la responsabilité du client de veiller à ce que les mesures nécessaires soient prises afin de protéger les ordinateurs et le système informatique du client contre de tels virus ou pannes. Cazimir décline toute responsabilité en cas de perte ou de dommage résultant de la réception ou de l’utilisation de communications électroniques en provenance de Cazimir.

12. Droits de propriété intellectuelle

Le client n’est pas autorisé à reproduire, publier ou utiliser d’une quelconque autre manière, lui-même ou avec l’aide de tiers, les conseils, notes, contrats, pièces de procédures, documents et tous les autres travaux intellectuels établis par Cazimir, sous quelque forme que ce soit, sans avoir reçu préalablement son accord écrit, autrement que dans le cadre de la mission confiée à Cazimir.

13. Fin du contrat

§1er. Tant le client que Cazimir ont le droit de mettre fin à tout moment au contrat, avec prise d’effet immédiate et sans justification.

Le client est dans ce cas tenu de régler toutes les prestations et frais encourus jusqu’à la date de résiliation du contrat. Cazimir établit un relevé final des honoraires et frais et le remet au client.

Dans la mesure où la loi et la déontologie le permettent, Cazimir peut invoquer son droit de rétention avant de remettre son dossier au client.

§2. Cazimir décline toute responsabilité en cas de préjudice qui découlerait de la résiliation de son contrat avec le client.

14. Archivage

A la fin de chaque mission, Cazimir archive le dossier et le conserve ensuite pendant une période de cinq ans. Les documents originaux peuvent être restitués au client et doivent le cas échéant être archivés par ses soins. A l’issue de la période susmentionnée de cinq ans, Cazimir a le droit de détruire le dossier.

15. Modification

Cazimir se réserve le droit d’apporter à tout moment des modifications aux présentes conditions générales.

16. Droit applicable et juge compétent

§1er. Tous les contrats conclus entre Cazimir et le client sont exclusivement régis par le droit belge.

Tous les avocats employés par Cazimir sont soumis (a) aux règlements de l’Ordre des Barreaux flamands ainsi qu’aux règlements non encore abrogés de l’ancien Ordre national des Avocats, qui peuvent être consultés sur www.advocaat.be et (b) aux règlements de l’Ordre néerlandophone des Avocats du barreau de Bruxelles, qui peuvent être consultés sur www.baliebrussel.be, ou aux règlements de l’Ordre des Avocats de Courtrai, qui peuvent être consultés sur www.baliekortrijk.be, ou aux règlements de l’Ordre des Avocats de Gand, qui peuvent être consultés sur www.balie-gent.be, ou aux règlements de l’Ordre des Avocats d’Anvers, qui peuvent être consultés sur www.balieantwerpen.be, en fonction du barreau où l’avocat concerné est inscrit (supra, article 1er)

§2. Les parties règleront de préférence leurs différends à l’amiable.

§3. Pour les différends concernant les honoraires, il existe, en fonction de l’unité d’établissement concernée de Cazimir (Bruxelles, Anvers, Gand ou Courtrai), un règlement des litiges extrajudiciaires par le biais de :

    • l’Ordre néerlandophone des Avocats du Barreau de Bruxelles : site Internet www.baliebrussel.be > votre avocat > que faire en cas de désaccord avec mon avocat ?
    • l’Ordre des Avocats du Barreau d’Anvers : site Internet www.balieantwerpen.be > Un avocat > Les honoraires > Contestations
    • l’Ordre des Avocats du Barreau de Courtrai : le site Internet www.baliekortrijk.be > Un avocat > Honoraires > Contestation
    • l’Ordre des Avocats du Barreau de Gand : le site Internet www.balie-gent.be > citoyens > honoraires

Pour les affaires disciplinaires, en fonction du barreau où l’avocat est inscrit, le bâtonnier suivant est compétent :

    • l’Ordre néerlandophone des Avocats du Barreau de Bruxelles : Bâtonnier au barreau de Bruxelles, Palais de Justice, Place Poelaert, 1000 Bruxelles
    • l’Ordre des Avocats du Barreau d’Anvers : Bâtonnier au Barreau d’Anvers, Gerechtsgebouw, Bolivarplaats 20/15, 2000 Anvers.
    • le Barreau de Courtrai : Bâtonnier au Barreau de Courtrai, Gerechtsgebouw, Burgemeester Nolfstraat 10A, 8500 Courtrai.
    • le Barreau de Gand : Bâtonnier au Barreau de Gand, Gerechtsgebouw, Opgeëistenlaan 401/P - 9000 Gand.

§4. Seuls les tribunaux de Bruxelles sont compétents pour connaître de tout litige entre Cazimir et le client.

Ce site Internet utilise des cookies afin d’améliorer l’expérience de l’utilisateur. En continuant à surfer sur notre site, vous acceptez notre politique en matière de cookies. Plus d’informations